Victorian Billiards & Snooker Association Inc.

Representing & Developing Billiards & Snooker as a sport in Victoria

VBSA Patron: The Honourable Linda Dessau AC, Governor of Victoria.


(Victorian Billiards & Snooker Association Inc.)
VBSA Patron: The Honourable Linda Dessau AC, Governor of Victoria.
Representing & Developing Billiards & Snooker as a sport in Victoria
Archives for Lance Pannell Classic

The Lance Pannell Classic began in 1987and has become the longest running snooker tournament in the nation.
Every year the best players converge on The Yarraville Club. World and Australian champions have entered, and players have travelled halfway around the world to take part. Former World Champion Neil Robertson won the Lance Pannell Classic twice before going to England. It is not uncommon for as many as three-quarters of Australia’s Top 40 players to compete.

On the 2nd October, 2011, the Yarraville Club and Snooker & Billiards Community were saddened by the passing of Lance Pannell a true champion. Lance passed away on 2nd October, 2011 after a long illness. He was 87 years old. Players who were lucky enough to have known or played against Lance will remember his genial character, talent and the way he played the game.

This tournament has now been integrated into the "Pacific International" as the "Pacific International Snooker Championship". The event is held over a long weekend and attracts players from the UK and Asia. It is immediately followed by the Australian Billiards and the National Billiards.

Year Winner Runner up High Break By Break Venue If not run in this year, reason why
2017 Matthew Bolton Johl Younger Steve Mifsud 122 Yarraville / Reventon Snooker Academy
2016 Shawn Budd James Mifsud Hassan Kerde 121 Yarraville
2015 Adrian Ridley Kurt Dunham Johl Younger 95 Yarraville
2014 Steve Mifsud Shawn Budd Yarraville
2013 Adrian Ridley Hassan Kerde Brett Rogers 106 Yarraville
2012 Vinnie Calabrese Steve Mifsud Steve Mifsud 117 Yarraville
2011 Aaron Mahoney James Mifsud Yarraville
2010 Vinnie Calabrese James Mifsud James Mifsud 117 Yarraville
2009 Steve Mifsud Vinnie Calabrese Vinnie Calabrese 126 Yarraville
2008 James Mifsud Aaron Mahoney Yarraville
2007 James Mifsud Dean O'Kane Dean O'Kane 116 Yarraville
2006 Steve Mifsud James Mifsud Robby Foldvari 141 Yarraville
2005 Dean O'Kane Rob James Robby Foldvari 137 Yarraville
2004 Neil Robertson Johl Younger Neil Robertson 138 Yarraville
2003 James Mifsud Robin Beggs Yarraville
2002 Neil Robertson Johl Younger Johl Younger 134 Yarraville
2001 Johl Younger Yarraville
2000 Steve Mifsud Yarraville
1999 Johl Younger Yarraville
1998 Andrew Hicks Yarraville
1997 Quinton Hann Yarraville
1996 Johl Younger Yarraville
1995 Robby Foldvari Yarraville
1994 Quinton Hann Yarraville
1993 Robin Beggs Yarraville
1992 Peter Hawkes Yarraville
1991 Stan Gorski Yarraville
1990 Stan Gorski Yarraville
1989 Peter Hawkes Yarraville
1988 Brett Rogers Yarraville
1987 Peter Hawkes Yarraville

If you have information that is not currently available would you please email