Victorian Billiards & Snooker Association Inc.

Representing & Developing Billiards & Snooker as a sport in Victoria

VBSA Patron: The Honourable Linda Dessau AC, Governor of Victoria.


(Victorian Billiards & Snooker Association Inc.)
VBSA Patron: The Honourable Linda Dessau AC, Governor of Victoria.
Representing & Developing Billiards & Snooker as a sport in Victoria
Archives for City of Melbourne Snooker Championship

The City of Melbourne Championships has been running since its initial beginnings in 1975. Initially held at CTA Club and 2 years later at the South Yarra Club. With following years shared between Glenhuntly Club and Alcocks Showroom. It finally settled at Brunswick Club, which had been its home until 2007.

It was Victoria’s first prize money tournament and is one of Australia’s oldest tournaments. It was the first tournament held in Victoria to attract interstate competitors.In 2008 it was transformed into a round robin event, it now attracts a limited field of 96 entries from all over Australia and has become one of the most Prestigious events on the Australian Calendar. The round robin is played across many venues in Melbourne, the final at RACV.

The current highest break was made in the last 32 of the 2009 championship by Neil Robertson with a 141

This tournament has become the first of the "Reventon Triple Crown". It is now part of the richest group of tournaments in the Southern Hemisphere.

Year Winner Runner up High Break By Break Venue If not run in this year, reason why
2016 Aaron Mahoney James Mifsud Timothy Ng 108 RACV
2015 Ben Judge Adrian Ridley Aaron Mahoney 137 RACV
2014 Matthew Bolton Shaun Dalitz Henry Lau 100 RACV
2013 Steve Mifsud Shaun Dalitz James Mifsud 88 RACV
2012 Johl Younger Joe Minici Steve Mifsud 112 RACV
2011 James Mifsud Shawn Budd Johl Younger 137 RACV
2010 Steve Mifsud Aaron Mahoney Sourav Kothari 125 RACV
2009 Neil Robertson Steve Mifsud Neil Robertson 141 RACV
2008 Neil Robertson Rudy Sulaeman Steve Mifsud 136 RACV
2007 Rudy Sulaeman David Collins Brunswick
2006 Adrian Ridley Robby Foldvari Steve Ebejer 128 Brunswick
2005 Dean O'Kane Joe Minici Dean O'Kane 132 Brunswick
2004 Steve Mifsud James Mifsud Steve Mifsud 119 Brunswick
2003 Shannon Dixon Aaron Mahoney Steve Ebejer 84 Brunswick
2002 Quinton Hann Andrew Hicks Quinton Hann 105 Brunswick
2001 Joe Minici Brunswick
2000 Quinton Hann Brunswick
1999 Peter Hawkes Brunswick
1998 David Waller Brunswick
1997 Stan Gorski Brunswick
1996 Steve Mifsud Brunswick
1995 Neil Croft Brunswick
1994 Neil Croft Brunswick
1993 Quinton Hann Brunswick
1992 Andrew Hicks Brunswick
1991 Stan Gorski Brunswick
1990 Steve Mifsud Brunswick
1989 Peter Hawkes Brunswick
1988 Gerry Cullen Brunswick
1987 Jeff Gannon Brunswick
1986 David Collins Brunswick
1985 Gerry Cullen
1984 Peter Gray
1983 Glen Wilkinson
1982 John Campbell
1981 Alcocks
1980 Robby Foldvari Glenhuntly
1979 John Mackay
1977 John Mackay South Yarra
1975 John Mackay CTA

If you have information that is not currently available would you please email